Veranstaltungsreihe und künstlerisches Forschungsprojekt
von Janine Eisenächer & Steffi Weismann

READY MAKING is dedicated to the exploration and presentation of sonic actions with things. Selected performances and installations were assembled under a different thematic focus in each edition, and discursively accompanied by lectures, artist talks and the dialogue-based video interviews “Mind the Sound”.

After initially focusing on the things themselves as co-performers with their own agency (#1) and subsequently dealing with the materiality of sound spaces and spatial practices and listening (#2), we explored the aspect of sonic affordances (#3) and various forms of microphoning and microscoping matter through sound (#4). In 2022 we discussed resonances and media apparatuses (#5), and the manifold relations between sound, movement and choreography as well as on sound production and listening in movement as an interrelation of body, things and environment (#6).

The title Ready Making sets the art-historical concept of the 'ready-made' in motion and in performance. The focus of interest is the tactile handling of things with their acoustic potential in space. The connection of sound action and hearing opens up a sensual-aesthetic and ecological-political space of perception and action. Based on this, the genre of sound performance will be highlighted and interrogated as a model of listening co-existence for human-thing and human-space relations. Things are thereby actors, knowledge carriers and cultural repositories at the same time.

The following artists, musicians and theorists participated with their works within six themes in Berlin at Errant Sound, Flutgraben, Hošek Contemporary and DOCK 11 from 2019 - 2022:
Sven-Åke Johansson, Neo Hülcker, Stellan Veloce, Anais Héraud-Lousiadat, Burkhard Beins, Anne Wellmer, Alvin Lucier, Gwendoline Robin, Annette Krebs, Erin Sexton, Peter Strickmann, Christian Kesten, Valerian Maly, Clara Schilliger, Gisela Hochuli, Ryoko Akama, Theresa Schubert, Cathy van Eck, Daniela Fromberg, Stefan Roigk, Antje Vowinckel, Ioana Vreme Moser, Brad Nath, Jan Rozman, Lorena Izquierdo, Aziz Lewandowsky, Janine Eisenächer, Steffi Weismann, Christoph Schuller, Prof. Elena Ungeheuer, Prof. Holger Schulze, Prof. Golo Foellmer, and Prof. Stephanie Schroedter.

curated by Janine Eisenächer and Steffi Weismann
realized in cooperation with Errant Sound
kindly supported by initiative neue musik berlin, Musikfonds, Kulturstiftung Pro Helvetia